fixtures scorecards & reports player profiles averages club history photo gallery contact forum store

AGM report
posted: November 25, 2022

Casualties avoided as Strollers vote in three skippers for 23 at our AGM

Davie G

This Strollers' AGM lived up to it's dramatic reputation to full effect yesterday evening with one near hospitalisation and the election of no fewer than three captains alongside three more vice captains to take us into 2023.

Convening on Thursday night as usual at the White Horse in Soho, twelve Strollers assembled to discuss affairs of state but just as outgoing skipper Harry rose to give his opening remarks, Davie G (pictured right) took a terrible tumble as he tripped on his way to the bar and collapsed like a lamp. After several worrysome minutes lying in the floor taking time to complete the mandatory concussion checks Gorton dusted himself down and gladly declared he was fine to continue.

Harry resumed to reveal the season averages (soon to be published on this website) and to reflect on another excellent set of results across the season, our final tally of 11 wins, 2 draws and 6 losses ensuring that we ended the year comfortably in the black. The skipper then announced our award winners – Ron as Batsman and Stroller of the Year and Spencer as Bowler of the Year, although unfortunately neither were present to collect their gongs. Karthik – who can famously lay claim to bein an undefeated Stroller, having not yet lost a match that he has played in with us – was dubbed Newcomer of the Year and Harsh was the popular winner of the Clubman of the Year award, not least for gamely touring to Munich regardless of the fact that he was unable to play due to his injured wrist (which happily has now healed).

With Matt 'The Cat' Morgan also sadly unable to be with us, the responsibility of administering the Bucket of Justice fell to Dave 'The Kitten' Couldrey. The occasion was also marked by the mutual and certainly progressive decision to share the duties over the year ahead with the election of three skippers and vice captains – one for Sundays matches, one for T20s and one for the tour.

After an uncharacteritically civilised electoral process, the Bucket decisively spoke and the following Strollers were voted into office:

George Brown Sunday captain
Spencer Fowler Sunday vice captain
Ron Banerjee T20 captain
Harry Brown T20 vice captain
Harsh Joshi Tour captain
Ali Rookes Tour vice captain

Congratulations especially to George 'Mad Dog' Brown who will return to take the helm after 5 years and Ron 'Boundary' Banerjee who together will doubtless lead us to great things in 2023. And, of course, our utmost thanks must go to our departing skipper Harry for a job very well done in '22. Stroll on!


Stroller & Batsman Of The Year
Ron Banerjee (594 runs at 49.5, 24 wickets at 17.63)

Bowler Of The Year
Spencer Fowler (24 wickets at 16.21)

Newcomer Of The Year
Karthik Kaushik (134 runs at 26.8, 6 wickets at 25.33)

Clubman Of The Year
Harsh Joshi (non playing)

In attendance: George Brown, Harry Brown, David Couldrey, Varun Deo, Viral Doshi, David Gorton, Harsh Joshi, Karthik Kaushik, Rohit Kawathekar, Gavin Richardson, Ali Rookes, Tim Sturm

Gavin Richardson

back to top
The content of this website is © copyright PimlicoStrollers.co.uk 2004-2020
Stroll on...