fixtures scorecards & reports player profiles averages club history photo gallery contact forum store

AGM report
posted: November 29, 2021

Strollers AGM sees Harry take the helm

Pimlico Strollers AGM 2021

After last year's unprecedented virtual AGM conducted over Zoom, we were delighted to return to The White Horse in Soho last Friday to convene and discuss the affairs of our wonderful cricket club. Attendance was good and, as is now often the case, we were joined on WhatsApp by several Strollers unable to be there in person.

In traditional style, having shared out the season and career averages with those present, Abhik kicked proceedings off with a review of the season – truly a vintage year by any standards with 14 victories keeping our win/loss ratio firmly in the black. Recalling several champagne moments, including Rohit's stunning and match-winning 5-44 over the Highgate Taverners, Varun and the Kitten's mind-blowing twin centuries that brought us back from the brink against the Bohos, and of course the nerve-shredding win over Hawridge & Cholesbury off the final delivery of the season, Abhik reminded us that 2021 truly had been a season for the history books.

Awards were handed out to Ali (Newcomer of the Year), Rohit (Bowler of the Year) and unsurprisingly Harry collected a brace of gongs as both Batsman and Stroller of the Year (an AGM first). Nods were also given to Dickie – his stunning high take at Hawridge & Cholesbury named Catch of the Season and also to Varun, who received the dubious nod for the Dolly Drop of the Season in the same game (young Ollie Haines still crestfallen, one suspects).

After a rousing round of applause and a standing ovation to the loud strains of "Four more years!" for Abhik (causing at least one fellow pubgoer to storm outside complaining 'this isn't America!'), our outgoing skipper gave way to Matt Morgan, keeper of the Bucket of Justice. The customary mayhem then ensued with numerous nominations from the floor proposing whom to elect as captain for 2022 and, with a widely spread field, the vote was split requiring several ballots to distill the front runners (not helped by a wicketkeeper who shall remain nameless wilfully spoiling ballot papers...).

Eventually, after much deliberation and soul searching – especially on the part of the captaincy nominees themselves who gave a series of impassioned hustings (some passionately stating that they didn't want the job!) – the contenders were narrowed down to Harry and Varun. In the final vote, Harry emerged victorious as our skipper for next season and, with the realisation of the honour bestowed on him now settling in, Brown Jnr gave a fine acceptance speech to the acclaim of his team mates. As runner up, Varun gladly accepted the mantle of Vice Captain for another season and with that our new leadership was finally established, Harry becoming the first second generation Stroller to become skipper! A brave new world beckons.

Stroll on...

In attendance: Ron Banerjee, Richard Betts, Harry Brown, David Couldrey, Varun Deo, Viral Doshi, Abhik Ghosh, David Gorton, Gaurav Jain, Rohit Kawathekar, Matt Morgan, Gavin Richardson, Ali Rookes, Ravi Yadav


Harry and Abhik

Stroller & Batsman Of The Year
Harry Brown (549 runs at 54.9, 21 wickets at 13.57)




Rohit and Abhik

Bowler Of The Year
Rohit Kawathekar (18 wickets at 28.6)




Ali and Abhik

Newcomer Of The Year
Ali Rookes (19 runs at 6.33, 4 wickets at 22.75)




Updated averages were unveiled and are now available to view on the website:


Gavin Richardson

back to top
The content of this website is © copyright PimlicoStrollers.co.uk 2004-2021
Stroll on...