fixtures scorecards & reports player profiles averages club history photo gallery contact forum store

AGM report
posted: November 28, 2020

Strollers online AGM sees election of Captain Bob

Captain Bob

History was made last night when, owing to ongoing COVID-19 restrictions, we were forced to take our AGM online for the first time with a lengthy (and sometimes incomprehensible) three hour Zoom video conference. However the virtual setting permitted Strollers far and wide to participate and we were pleased to be joined by representation from overseas in the shape of Simon 'SiBo' Boughey dialling in from the USA and Andrew 'Master' Bates calling all the way from New Zealand.

Despite the socially distant conditions, tradition was honoured fully with outgoing skipper Davie G – dressed for the occasion in full black tie attire – summing up his highlights of our curtailed season and revealing the 2020 and career averages. As always, awards were bestowed with Harry Brown deservedly claiming the esteemed Stroller Of The Year trophy with Kashif and Varun collecting the gongs for Batsman and Bowler of the year respectively. Avnish was also named Newcomer Of The Year having graciously joined our ranks this summer.

Having received the well-deserved thanks of his team mates for a second successful season at the helm, Dave gracefully gave way to our stalwart returning officer Matt 'The Cat' Morgan who brought forth the Bucket Of Justice, albeit on camera. After no fewer than six nominations for a captain to succeed Dave, after the first vote the candidates were distilled down to a final run-off between Abhik and Varun.

Thankfully the recent controversies of the US presidential election were neatly avoided as the bucket spoke decisively to declare Abhik 'Bob' Ghosh the clear winner and captain for the 2021 season, with Varun kindly agreeing to serve as his vice captain. Varun found himself deputising immediately as Abhik's broadband connection suspiciously collapsed just at the winning moment and our newfound vice skipper graciously accepted the captaincy on Bob's behalf. Thankfully Abhik rematerialised a few minutes later and offered his own words of thanks.

The evening concluded following an exciting update from Ron about the prospects of our first overseas tour in four years (Coronavirus permitting) to Porto next May. Additionally with the looming prospect of Gav and Ron's respective marriages next year, plans were set afoot to contest an inter-club 'Pre Nup Cup'. With this and so much more to look forward to, just as soon as this pesky pandemic is finally put to bed, 2021 looks set to be a vintage Strollers year. Let's have at it!

Stroll on...

In attendance: Ron Banerjee, Andrew Bates, Richard Betts, Simon Boughey, George Brown, Harry Brown, David Couldrey, Varun Deo, Avnish Deshpande, Viral Doshi, Abhik Ghosh, David Gorton, Gaurav Jain, Harsh Joshi, Tom Harvey, Rohit Kawathekar, Kashif Khan, Matt Morgan, Gavin Richardson


Stroller Of The Year
Harry Brown (160 runs at 40, 3 wickets at 40.66)

Batsman Of The Year
Kashif Khan (182 runs at 45.5)

Bowler Of The Year
Varun Deo (13 wickets at 11.92)

Newcomer Of The Year
Avnish Desphande


Updated averages were unveiled and are now available to view on the website:

Gavin Richardson

back to top
The content of this website is © copyright PimlicoStrollers.co.uk 2004-2020
Stroll on...